Vegan Summer Quinoa Salad

Now that spring is here, I feel like eating salads a lot. A couple of weeks ago, I was trying to come up with one my boyfriend would eat. One he would not find boring. I went through what we had in the fridge and in the pantry and started gathering ingredients on the counter top.

I wanted something tasty but also healthy. And because my boyfriend was going to eat some, I added more protein than I would normally use –If it was just for myself. That day we probably reached 15 to 18 grams per serving.

For the dressing, I usually like things simple : olive oil and a bit of vinegar, but somehow I thought of adding some tahini that we had left and it was a great idea! Although the dressing ended up being thicker than what I’m used to, its nutty taste was so worth it.

This recipe requires very little and very easy preparation. I didn’t measure anything when I made it, but here’s approximately what I used for 2 servings.

-White Quinoa, 1/2 cup
-Cherry tomatoes, a handful or more according to preference.
-Sun dried Tomatoes, 3 to 4
-Persian cucumber, 1 small
-Corn, 1/2 a 15 oz can
-Romaine (or spinach), two handfuls
-Black beans (optional), 1/3 a 15 oz can
-Herbs such as scallions or chives (optional)

For the dressing :
-Olive oil, 2 Tablespoons
-Apple Cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon
-Tahini, 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoon
-A pinch of salt (optional)
-A dash of red pepper flakes (optional)

Cook quinoa according to package instructions. Chop all the vegetables into small pieces. In a bowl, combine tomatoes (fresh and sun dried), cucumber, corn, greens and black beans. In a small bowl, prepare your dressing mixing all 4 ingredients. Let quinoa cool, then add to the bowl. (it should be noted that this also tastes good with warm quinoa)
You can either mix the dressing and vegetables in the bowl, then serve, or choose to drizzle the dressing on top of the vegetables, once in the plates, for a fancy presentation.
Add herbs on top for garnish and taste.

Let me know if you try the recipe, and what your thoughts are!
Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

